Presidential Election 2022: Draupadi Murmu Vs Yashwant Sinha, Know All About Both The President Candidates

With the expiration of the term of Hon’ble President Ramnath Kobind on 24th July, the Republic of India is going to get its 15th President in July 2022. That is why the presidential election is scheduled to be held on July 18 and the counting of votes will be conducted on July 21. The 15th President of India will be sworn in on July 25, 2022, with the announcement of the final results.

Two prominent names have been announced as candidates for this year’s presidential election. The first is Draupadi Murmu, who was elected as the presidential candidate by the BJP-led NDA government, and the second is Yashwant Sinha, whose name has been announced for the joint opposition. Let’s find out more about them and the presidential election process.

Presidential Elections: Draupadi Murmu and Yashwant Sinha

How the President is elected

The President was elected through indirect elections to the Electoral College. Members of both Houses of Parliament, i.e. the lower house; Lok Sabha and Upper House; Members of the Rajya Sabha and the Legislative Assembly are eligible to vote for the President. The total number of votes is 4,609 including 6 votes of the Member of Parliament.

It should be noted here that the nominated members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha and the Legislative Assembly are not eligible to vote for the President. Here, the value of the votes of the members of the Legislative Assembly is 543,231 and the value of the votes of the Members of Parliament is 543,200, which is equivalent to the value of 1,086,431.

Draupadi Murmu: NDA candidate in the presidential election

Draupadi Murmu, who hails from Odisha and has served as the former governor of Jharkhand, has been nominated by the BJP-led NDA government for the presidential election. His name was announced after a meeting of the BJP’s parliamentary board chaired by Narendra Modi. In the span of 2 decades of his political career, he has been awarded by the Orissa Legislative Assembly as the best MLA of the year.

Important point about Draupadi Murmu

Here are some interesting things you should know about Draupadi Murmu.

  • In 2015, she became the first woman governor of Jharkhand.
  • If Draupadi Murmu wins the presidential election, she will be the first Adivasi and the second woman to become the President of India.
  • He has also served as the state minister in the Orissa government.
  • Murmu, a resident of Mayurbhanj district in Orissa, started as a teacher before entering state politics.
  • He has twice been MLA on a BJP ticket from Rayurangpur (2000 and 2009) in Mayurbhanj.
  • He served as Minister of Commerce and Transport during the BJP-BJD coalition government that came to power in 2000 and later as Minister of Fisheries and Animal Husbandry.
  • Before becoming an MLA, Murmu served as a councilor in the Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat after winning the 1997 elections and as vice-president of the BJP’s Scheduled Tribes Morcha.
  • His expected victory as president would boost the BJP’s tribal vote – with the NDA leading 48% of the electoral vote.

Draupadi Murmur’s political career

Considering her political career, Draupadi Murmu is known as the first woman governor of Jharkhand and the first tribal woman to be appointed as the governor of any state in India. In the BJP-BJD coalition government in Orissa, he served as Minister of State for Trade and Transport from March 6, 2000 to August 6, 2002. He is a resident of Rairangpur Assembly constituency and has been a former minister of Orissa since 2000.

Interesting information about Draupadi Murmu

  • Draupadi Murmu was elected councilor in 1997.
  • Draupadi Murmu became the Vice-Chairperson of Rairangpur NAC in 1997.
  • He was later elected a member of the Rairangpur Legislative Assembly in Orissa
  • He has also served as the state minister in the Orissa government.
  • From 2002 to 2009, Draupadi Murmu was the National Executive Member of ST Morcha, BJP.
  • In 2007, Draupadi Murmu was awarded “Nilakantha Award.

Yashwant Sinha: Presidential candidate from the Opposition

Yashwant Sinha, named by the joint opposition, is a former IAS officer and a prominent political figure. He has served as a former Union Minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led NDA government. His name was announced at a parliamentary meeting chaired by NCP chief Sharad Pawar.

Mr Sinha was an Indian administrative official before entering politics. A resident of Patna, Bihar Sinha joined the IAS in 1960 and then started his political journey by joining the Janata Party in 1984. Although he has held various positions, finance has always been his strongest domain. He served as finance minister for the first three years from 1998 to 2002 in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led government.

Yashwant Sinha’s important point

  • Here we are highlighting some important issues of Presidential Candidate Mr. Yashwant Sinha.
  • He is the first finance minister to break the tradition of the colonial era where the Union Budget was presented in the evening. As finance minister, Sinha presented the first Union Budget in 1998-99 in the morning. Sinha’s 1998-99 budget was the first to be presented this morning.
  • He is credited with increasing the funding of the National Highway Authority of India by introducing the Petroleum Cess. It helped launch the most ambitious Golden Quadrilateral project.
  • The confession of the indigenous reformer in his book; His confession about the tenure of the finance minister can be read.
  • He was elected a member of Rajya Sabha in 1988.
  • He was one of the founding members of the Janata Dal in 1989 and held the post of general secretary of the party who later joined the BJP.
  • He was part of the BJP from 1992 to 2018.
  • He left the BJP on April 21, 2018 and joined the Trinamool Congress as national vice-president in 2021.
  • In his political life of more than 3 decades, he gained important ministry experience by working as Union Finance Minister, Foreign Minister, Foreign Minister etc. He has been the Foreign Minister since July 2002 in the Vajpayee Jir government. May 2004.
  • In 2015, the veteran politician said Of the French government Highest civilian award; Officer de la Legion d’Or.

Source link

Leave a Comment